Do I Have a Right To Know the Other Driver’s Insurance Policy Limits in Texas?
Car accidents are traumatic and stressful experiences. With so much going on, you may feel overwhelmed at the sheer thought of gathering insurance information and submitting claims, though such processes are necessary for your financial recovery.
At Haines Law, accident victims frequently ask, “Do I have a right to know the other driver’s insurance policy limits in Texas?” As Houston, TX, car accident injury lawyers, we want to help clarify misunderstandings surrounding Texas liability and disclosure laws so no insurance companies or drivers take advantage of your rights.
Why You May Need To Learn the Other Driver’s Coverage
Recovering from an accident is challenging, especially when dealing with expensive property damages and medical bills. Learning about the other driver’s coverage protects your financial interests. If you can understand the other driver’s maximum coverage amount, you can avoid accepting lowball offers.
For example, if the driver’s policy offers up to $40,000, but the insurance only offers you $20,000, you can wait on settling until you receive the offer you desire. If you learn that the driver’s coverage isn’t enough to pay for all your damages, you can begin taking additional steps, like filing claims with your health insurance company.
Understanding Texas Liability and Disclosure Laws
All Texas drivers must carry liability insurance covering damages they cause to another party’s property. The Texas Department of Insurance requires drivers to carry $30,000 in coverage for injured persons, up to $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage per accident, though many drivers choose larger policies.
The above numbers depict the maximum amount the insurance company will pay you if the insured party causes damage to you or your vehicle. Often, insurance companies don’t want to disclose their policyholder’s maximum coverage information as a tactic to give you as little compensation as possible.
While many states require insurance adjusters to disclose their policyholder’s coverage information, Texas does not, which means agents aren’t legally required to tell you anything. So, when asking, “Do I have a right to know the other driver’s insurance policy limits in Texas?” the answer is typically no, though you shouldn’t give up here.
Four Ways To Find Out the Other Driver’s Insurance Coverage Information
You can try receiving the other driver’s insurance coverage information by following these steps:
- Ask the driver: Sometimes, the at-fault driver may willingly disclose their policy information, as the claim payout amount typically won’t affect them. You can ask politely by calling the phone number they provide on the police report.
- Use your insurance company: Your insurance company may be able to contact the at-fault party’s company to help you find out this information. The liable party’s adjuster may be more willing to disclose the information to your organization.
- Submit a demand letter: You can send a demand letter to the insurance company stating that you will accept an offer of the full claim amount, given that the company discloses this information. We recommend speaking with our accident attorneys before choosing this route, as we can help you navigate the settlement process.
- File a lawsuit: We can also help you sue the negligent party, which would include a formal request to the insurance company for the driver’s policy information.
Protect Your Rights by Contacting Us at Haines Law Today
While you may not have a right to know the other driver’s insurance policy limits in Texas, an experienced accident injury attorney can help you to navigate the process. If you have been injured in a car accident, be sure to contact our team at Haines Law in Houston, TX, for a free consultation with our experienced attorneys.